Kinross Speedpark "GOING GREEN" This Sunday, June 5

Fox Boyz Racing is ready to welcome the 20th Anniversary Season of local stock car racing action to the Kinross Speedpark this Sunday, June 5th, 2016.

Time trials are set for 1:30 p.m. with racing action to start at 3 p.m.

The opening afternoon of action, presented by Parsons Performance Parts, will feature the Chris Jones Memorial. Along with a full show in all three divisions (Modifieds, ABC Stock Cars and Four Cylinders), the night will be highlighted with 63 laps of ABC Stock Car feature racing (32 laps A-Division, 31 laps B-Division).

Jones was a longtime Twin Sault’s racing competitor, and friend to all, whom we lost from our racing community less than one year ago. He will be honoured in a pre-race ceremony to kick off the afternoon.

Off the track, there will be an added incentive for our younger fans to be in attendance as there will be bike giveaways at Intermission. A great way to kick off summer!

This event the first of seven scheduled points nights to be held during the 2016 season before the season finale, the Memorial Invitational in memory of Ted Brooks and Randy Dewitt (Sept. 16-18).

The highly-anticipated points battles begin in the Modified Division. Reigning track champion TIM AHO (#27, Sault Ste. Marie, MI) returns to the 1/4 mile to defend the title he won one year ago by a mere two points in the standings over fellow returnee BUDDY GRAY IV (#24JR, Petoskey, MI)

Back among one of the strongest field of Modifieds in the state of Michigan will be the cousin duo of BJ MARCOUX (#43M, Havilland ON) and CODY MACLEAN (#43, Sault Ste. Marie, ON) along with JAY PALUMBO (#90, Goulais ON) who heads into the season in a brand-new ride.

Newcomers to the division include TYLER RYE (#34, Pickford MI) and GREG MATHENY (#18, Sault Ste. Marie MI) to help put together the stout field.

Veteran Modified pilot, and previous Four Cylinder track champion TAYLOR BABCOCK (#56, Rudyard MI) will take to the track before departing mid-June for a new adventure in the young ladies future career with the U.S. Air Force.

Meanwhile Lower MI competitors BRIAN BAUMGARTEN (#100, Onaway MI), ZACH O’HENLEY (#3Z, Afton MI) and CHRIS STARK (#40, Lewiston MI) are expected to make the trip North to the 1/4 mile asphalt oval throughout the 2016 schedule of events.

The ABC Stock Car Division will see a tremendous influx of new and returning drivers.

LARRY YOUNG JR. (#25, Sault Ste. Marie, MI) holds the title of reigning champion of the A-Division that also features a good number of drivers from both sides of the St. Mary’s river.

No less than four drivers will feature new rides at the track throughout the summer including TONY RANKIN (#68, Kinross MI), DAVE KING (#13, Sault Ste. Marie ON), BUDDY PALAHNUK (#26, Goulais ON) and JACOB HEIMONEN (#21, Sault Ste. Marie ON).

Meanwhile Fox Boyz Racing brothers MIKE FOX (#32, Brimley, MI) and PAUL FOX (#36, Brimley, MI) along with TOD FERGUSON (#57, Levering MI), JASON PRAYSNER (#5, Sault Ste. Marie ON) will put solid charges on the field on a nightly basis.

The B-Division is expected to see longtime Kinross competitor LARRY YOUNG SR. (#25, Sault Ste. Marie, MI) return alongside STEVE MCDONALD (#09, Sault Ste. Mare, MI), GRANT HOWARD (#19, Petoskey, MI) among others.

While the Four Cylinder Division quite possibly may see it’s 12th different champion in thirteen years of it’s existance.

With an opening for the top podium position, challenges are expected to see DEAN EGGART (#88, Kincheloe MI), BRENT FEWCHUK (#3, Sault Ste. Marie, ON) and JOHN ROBINSON (#27, Echo Bay ON) run side-by-side with a returning competitor DON DANGLER III (#19, Sault Ste. Marie, MI)

Dangler was previously the 2008 and 2009 champion in the division, the only two-time winner in the division.

Main Grandstand admission prices for the season opener, and all regular season events, is set at $11 for Adults, $7 for Seniors and Students while Kids 11 & Under are FREE.

To get to the track take Exit 378 off the I-75 and follow the signs to the Chippewa County Fairgrounds in Kinross, Michigan.

Meanwhile before the action takes the green flag, the weekend begins twenty-four hours earlier (Saturday, June 4) with a trio of events.

Cars will hit the track from 12 noon to 4 p.m. in their final practice session of the pre-season.

Then at 4 p.m., we are very pleased to be holding the 1st-ever Miss Kinross Speedpark Pageant.

Sixteen area young ladies will vie for the title of “Tiny Miss Four Cylinder” (4-7 years old), “Little Miss ABC Stock Car (8-11 years old), “Jr. Miss Modified” (12-16 years old) and “Miss Modified” (17-21 years old)

This event will be held in the 4H Building located on the Chippewa County Fairgrounds.

Special thanks to Michaela Ann Pine-Bennett, Brianna Bennett and Jen Vollick on all their hard work in setting up this inaugural event.

Local musicians, and unofficial cover band for the Speedpark, “Steelhead” will cap off Saturday Night with a performance that evening.

For more information log online to and “LIKE” our page on Facebook at


E-Mail:   Phone/Text:  906-203-1621 (Gerry)

LIKE us on Facebook  |  FOLLOW us on Twitter