Aerial view of the Kinross Speedpark during one of the year-end Invitationals.
(Photo credit:  Patti Wierzbicki)

The Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Super Sprint Series made it's second-ever apperance at Kinross
on July 19, 2002

(Photo credit: Rod Aubertin,

The Bishop Legends Series visited Kinross on this May 28, 2010 file photo

(Photo credit: Rod Aubertin,

(To view a list of TRACK CHAMPIONS Click Here)

The planning and building of the Kinross Speedpark (formerly Kinross International Speedway and Kinross Speedway) began in the early 1990’s with the idea that the Eastern U.P. as well as the Canadian Sault and surrounding area was ready to support stock car racing.

It was simply a matter of moving this process from the planning state to the building process, thus was the birth of New Era Motorsports. New Era Motorsports was a group comprised of several local businessmen and was organized specifically to construct and operate the Speedpark.
The track is 1550 feet in length and was built during the summer of 1995. It was completed during the Chippewa County Fair, a matter of hours before the first race was scheduled. The funding was a joint effort by the Kinross Township Board and New Era Motorsports. The opening race signified the first stock car race in this area since the late 1980’s.

The paving was done by Smith Paving of Marquette in which a concave racing surface was built. This incorporated a unique racing surface which consists of 3 degrees of slope on the inside increasing to about 12 degrees of slope on the outside of the corners. This allows for higher speeds on the upper racing lanes allowing for more even competition regardless of how wide the racer takes the corner.
This explains the reason for some racers actually preferring the middle portion of the track depending on exactly how their car is set-up and handling. Because of it’s unique design several of the racers have indicated that the Kinross Speedpark is the best short track on which they have ever raced. Late Model cars have been clocked at speeds in excess of 100 MPH on the straightaways.
Over the years some divisions have come and gone, but the one constant has been the fun, family entertainment the facility has provided during the summer months.


The summer of 2019 marked the Inaugural Hot Shoe 100 to be held at the Speedpark.  The event, 6 years running, moved north and took place in front of over 1800+ spectators and 220 camping units on the grounds.

One of the largest Modified events in the entire United States featured former NASCAR star, Kenny Wallace.

•    August 1995 to September 1999
New Era Motorsports build/operate Kinross International Speedway

•    Summer of 2000
Wayne Donaway, on behalf of the Kinross Charter Township

•    Spring 2001 to Fall 2002
RWR Enterprise (Dan Remillard and Walter Verdecchia)

•    February 2003 to Fall 2005
U.B. Racing (Pickford residents Todd & Donna Nyberg)

•    Winter 2006 to Fall 2011
Sault Area Racing Association operates track as not-for-profit, membership-driven organization

 Summers of 2012 & 2013
No regular racing.  Fox Boyz Racing operates track for one event in each of the summers during the Chippewa County Fair


• June 2014 to present
Racing returns bi-weekly promoted by Fox Boyz Racing.  Entering 2020, Fox Boyz Racing is the longest tenured promoters of the Speedpark.

history of kinross speedpark

Panaoramic view of the main grandstands during the 2017 Memorial Invitational event.

E-Mail:   Phone/Text:  906-203-1621 (Gerry)

LIKE us on Facebook  |  FOLLOW us on Twitter